Policy Liaisons are assigned within each core administrative unit (all units with a Vice Chancellor or Dean), and each school/college and have 3 primary responsibilities:

1. Involvement in the drafting of policies put forth by his or her unit (both University policies and unit policies).
2. Communication of new/changed policies affecting his/her unit to the unit more broadly.
3. Serving on the Policy Review Committee.

The Policy Review Committee (PRC) plays a crucial role during the University’s policy development life cycle, ensuring that before new policies/changes to policies are passed, a representative from each core unit has had the opportunity to review and comment.

The PRC is chaired by the Associate Director for Ethics Education and Policy Management.  To find your unit’s Policy Liaison, please refer to the list below. If you believe your unit should have a Policy Liaison, please contact the Office of Ethics Education and Policy Management.


The PRC meets on the last Thursday of each month from 10 – 11:30 am (except for the month of December).

Meeting Dates Materials
January 2017 Kick-Off Meeting Agenda
February PRC Meeting Agenda, Slides
March PRC Meeting Agenda, Slides
April PRC Meeting Agenda
June PRC Meeting Agenda,
July PRC Meeting AgendaSlides
August PRC Meeting Agenda
September PRC Meeting Agenda
October PRC Meeting Agenda
November PRC Meeting

Policy Liaisons Calendar Year 2017 – 2018 

Last updated 10/25/17

Unit Type First Name Last Name Email Address
Finance and Administration – Contact 1 Administrative Derek Kemp derek.kemp (at) unc.edu
Finance and Administration – Contact 2 Administrative Janet Kelly-Scholle janet_kelly-scholle (at) unc.edu
Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement – Contact 1 Administrative Kathy Bryant kathy_bryant (at) unc.edu
Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement – Contact 2 Administrative Linc Butler linc_butler (at) unc.edu
Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement – Contact 3 Administrative Becci Menghini becci_menghini (at) unc.edu
Information Technology and CIO Administrative Kim Stahl kim_stahl (at) unc.edu
Information Technology and CIO Administrative Susan Kellogg susan_kellogg (at) unc.edu
Research Administrative Robin Cyr rcyr (at) email.unc.edu
Athletics Administrative Paul Pogge ppogge (at) unc.edu
University Communications Administrative Tim Sabo tsabo (at) email.unc.edu
University Counsel Administrative Will Tricomi will_tricomi (at) unc.edu
Internal Audit Administrative Phyllis Petree ppetree (at) email.unc.edu
Student Affairs Administrative Christopher Payne Christopher_Payne (at) unc.edu
Student Affairs- Registrar Administrative Christy Samford christy.samford (at) unc.edu
University Development Administrative David Kass david_kass (at) unc.edu
Provost Administrative Ann Lemmon awlemmon (at) email.unc.edu
Scholarships and Student Aid Administrative
University Libraries Administrative Judy Panitch panitch (at) email.unc.edu
College of Arts and Sciences Schools and Colleges Kate Henz kmhenz (at) email.unc.edu
Dentistry Schools and Colleges Eric Everett eric_everett (at) unc.edu
Education Schools and Colleges Anne Bryan abryan2 (at) email.unc.edu
Eshelman School of Pharmacy Schools and Colleges Roy Zwahlen rzwahlen (at) unc.edu
Friday Center Schools and Colleges Rob Bruce rob_bruce (at) unc.edu
Gillings School of Global Public Health Schools and Colleges Todd Nicolet todd_nicolet (at) unc.edu
Government Schools and Colleges Tom Thornburg thornburg (at) sog.unc.edu
Information and Library Science Schools and Colleges Susan Sylvester ssylvest (at) email.unc.edu
Kenan-Flagler Business School Schools and Colleges Jeff Cannon jeff_cannon (at) unc.edu
Law Schools and Colleges Jeffrey Hirsch jmhirsch (at) email.unc.edu
Media and Journalism Schools and Colleges Kathi Wimmer kwimmer (at) unc.edu
Medicine – F&A Schools and Colleges
Medicine Schools and Colleges Ken Langley langley (at) med.unc.edu
Nursing Schools and Colleges Lisa Miller lhmiller (at) email.unc.edu
Social Work Schools and Colleges Sarah Naylor smnaylor (at) email.unc.edu
Summer School Schools and Colleges Michael Smith michael_smith (at) unc.edu
The Graduate School Schools and Colleges Stephanie Schmitt sschmitt (at) email.unc.edu
School of Education Schools and Colleges Kathleen Brown brownk (at) email.unc.edu
Employee Forum Natiaya Neal nneal (at) email.unc.edu
Student Government Julia Herring jmesc (at) live.unc.edu
Faculty Council
Office of the Chancellor Committee Chair Atinuke “Tinu” Diver tinu (at) unc.edu